Just another WordPress.com site

SOL- March 6th “New”

New!

&

The Just a Peek EFL Writing Community

Lying under a dark, warm, safe place I found them. Almost like magic, one morning they suddenly were there. These little things were hidden away by a protective belly, purring and snoring, sleeping and stretching, and caring for nothing. And certainly doing a lot of eating!

But they cannot see me or their hysterical mother as I approach; their tiny eyelids are still shut.

They are loved and embraced, looked upon with great curiosity and wonder by the foreigner human, or else…

But they can only feel their mother’s tender embrace, they can only listen to her heartbeat or feel each others fury face. Until one day: “Pop!” their eyes are open and a bright new world awaits.

5 responses

  1. I love the descriptive details you included — especially how you included the kittens’ point of view with the sounds they would hear and the “pop” as their eyes opened! The structure of your story was great too — you had me guessing about the kind of animal until I saw the pictures! At first I thought they were wild animals, since you talked about finding them. Welcome to Slices of Life! 🙂

    March 6, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    • I’m really glad you liked it!
      Actually I didn’t want to say they were kittens, because I know a lot of people don’t like cats. But these guys are so irresistible, I thought they should get a chance to be liked! Before anyone could judge.

      Thank you for your comment, it’s much appreciated.

      March 7, 2012 at 5:54 am

  2. Oh my goodness! These are the cutest pictures ever! I love the last picture with one eye wide open and the other waiting to pop open to see the bright new world that awaits. Your words enhance the pictures and the pictures enhance your words!

    March 7, 2012 at 1:39 am

    • I love writing about pictures, I feel like there’s so much to say and so little at the same time. But today I had so much more fun taking the pictures I had to practically lie on the grass with them to get the right angle, LOL.
      I’m so glad you liked them. Thanks!

      March 7, 2012 at 6:00 am

  3. I love the “inging” verbs you connected. Kittens – you brilliantly shared an adorable description of their beginning days of life.

    March 13, 2012 at 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

